jueves, 24 de febrero de 2011

Sonic Youth - Dirty Boots (1991)

While there is little denying the title track's status as one of Sonic Youth's strongest songs from their early-'90s period, the bonus live recordings are the real reason to own the Dirty Boots CD single. The scorching versions of "White Kross," "Eric's Trip," and "Cinderella's Big Score" reaffirm the group's status as one of the strongest live acts amid the alternative rock movement. Furthermore, this EP also includes an unreleased instrumental song, titled "The Bedroom," which isn't anything special, though it does make for an interesting listen. Source: [AMG]

Sonic Youth - Dirty Boots

Track Listing
1. Dirty Boots (Edit)
2. White Cross (Live)
3. Eric's Trip
4. Cinderella's Big Score (Live)
5. Dirty Boots (Live)
6. Bedroom (Live)


miércoles, 23 de febrero de 2011

Sonic Youth - Goo (1990)

Any doubts as to the continuing relevance of Sonic Youth upon their jump to major-label status were quickly laid to rest by Goo, their follow-up to the monumental Daydream Nation. While paling in the shadow of its predecessor, the record is nevertheless a defiant call to arms against mainstream musical values; the Geffen logo adorning the disc is a moot point -- Goo is, if anything, a portrait of Sonic Youth at their most self-indulgently noisy and contentious, covering topics ranging from Karen Carpenter ("Tunic") to UFOs ("Disappearer") to dating Jesus' mom ("Mary-Christ"). Even Public Enemy's Chuck D joins the fracas on the single "Kool Thing," which teeters on the brink of a cultural breakthrough but falls just shy of the mark; the same could be said of Goo itself -- by no means a sellout, it nevertheless lacks the coherence and force of the group's finest work, and the opportunity to violently rattle the mainstream cage slips by. Source: [AMG]

Sonic Youth - Kool Thing

Track Listing
1. Dirty Boots
2. Tunic (Song for Karen)
3. Mary-Christ
4. Kool Thing
5. Mote
6. My Friend Goo
7. Disappearer
8. Mildred Pierce
9. Cinderella's Big Score
10. Scooter + Jinx
11. Titanium Exposé


sábado, 29 de enero de 2011

Superchunk - Hyper Enough (1995)

Superchunk - Detroit Has A Skyline (acoustic version)

Track Listing
1. Hyper Enough
2. Never Too Young to Smoke
3. Detroit Has a Skyline (Acoustic Version)


miércoles, 26 de enero de 2011

Superchunk - Here's Where the Strings Come In (1995)

Without changing their tensely wound, post-Hüsker Dü punk-pop style at all, Superchunk sound completely weary on Here's Where the Strings Come In. No longer do their nervous, amateurish songs sound energetic -- they sound tired and broken. This actually results in some really interesting music, as Mac McCaughan tries to reconcile his broken spirits with his passion for punk. These songs tend to have more resonance than by-the-books rave-ups like "Hyper Enough," no matter how well those are written, and they suggest that Superchunk may be better off if they decide to revamp their signature sound completely. Source: [AMG]

Superchunk - Hyper Enough

Track Listing
1. Hyper Enough
2. Silver Leaf and Snowy Tears
3. Yeah, It's Beautiful Here Too
4. Iron On
5. Sunshine State
6. Detroit Has a Skyline
7. Eastern Terminal
8. Animated Airplanes over Germany
9. Green Flowers, Blue Fish
10. Here's Where the Strings Come In
11. Certain Stars


miércoles, 19 de enero de 2011

The Afghan Whigs - Uptown Avondale (1992)

The Afghan Whigs' final recording for Sub Pop, Uptown Avondale is anything but a contractual obligation -- a five-track EP comprising four R&B covers and a remake of Congregation's unlisted bonus track "Milez Iz Ded" (here retitled "The Rebirth of the Cool"), it's a soulful, scorching collection that captures the band at their gritty best. Quickly dispelling any lingering doubts that Greg Dulli's soul-man aspirations are anything but genuine, the disc's covers of chestnuts like Freda Payne's "Band of Gold" and the Supremes' "Come See About Me" are remarkable, remaining true to the music's R&B roots but infused with the Whigs' noise-punk energy -- Dulli sings like a man possessed, rejuvenating this familiar material with both reverence and attitude. Source: [AMG]

The Afghan Whigs - Come See About Me

Track Listing
1. Band of Gold
2. True Love Travels on a Gravel Road
3. Come See About Me
4. Beware


The Afghan Whigs - Turn On The Water (1992)

The Afghan Whigs - Turn On The Water

Track Listing
1. Turn On The Water
2. Miles Iz Ded
3. Delta Kong
4. Chalk Outline


The Afghan Whigs - My World Is Empty Without You (1991)

The Afghan Whigs ankled the grunge comparisons and emerged as the best blue-eyed soul outfit of their generation with their cover of the Supremes' Motown classic "My World Is Empty Without You." Operating in a Curtis Mayfield-inspired falsetto fraught with a desperation and longing that Diana Ross never mustered, Greg Dulli delivers his most remarkable performance to date -- he and his bandmates are no Funk Brothers, of course, but their spectral, finely wrought arrangement deftly captures the Whigs' growing mastery of nuance and mood. A pair of LP tracks -- Congregation's ferocious "Conjure Me" and Up in It's sinuous "You My Flower" -- round out the package. Source: [AMG]

The Afghan Whigs - My World Is Empty Withou You

Track Listing
1. My World Is Empty Without You
2. Conjure Me
3. You My Flower