jueves, 29 de octubre de 2009

The Dirtys - You Should Be Sinnin' (1997)

With nothing else to do in Port Huron, Michigan except drink, listen to the Stooges and start a bottle breaking, obnoxious rock troupe. At least that was the case for Screamin' Joe Burdick (bass/ vocals), Nick Lloyd (drums), Larry TerBush (guitar/ vocals) and Marc Watt (guitar) when they got together The Dirtys in early 1996. Known for their destructive stage presence and getting themselves banned from the occasional bar, Crypt Records took a liking to these guys and released their first album You Should Be Sinnin' in 1997. The Dirtys attempt to resurrect the spirit of classic rock & roll on You Should Be Sinnin'..., fusing Chuck Berry-esque riffs with considerable bad-boy attitude for maximum raunch. Source: [AMG]

Track Listing
1. Midnite Till Noon
2. I'm on Fire
3. Rock It Out Tonight!
4. Alive
5. Born to Lose, Live to Win
6. I Ain't Cheatin'
7. Grind Baby Grind
8. Shanty
9. Sex Pain
10. Dirtys Boogie
11. You Should Be Packin' Mama
12. Pistol Packin' Mama
13. You Belong to Me
14. Ain't She Sweet
15. Drink, Fight...Fuck!


miércoles, 21 de octubre de 2009

Pizzicato Five - Made In USA (1994)

Although it's not billed as such, Pizzicato Five's stateside debut, Made in USA, is actually a compilation of tracks from their 15 or so albums. You need a taste for irreverent sampling and ironic deconstruction of lightweight pop idioms to dig this. But within that narrow field, Pizzicato Five are as good as it gets. They devise fare that's both funky and funny, made more human than most such projects by Maki Nomiya's fetching vocals. Source: [AMG]

Pizzicato Five - Magic Carpet Ride

Track Listing
1. I
2. Sweet Soul Revue
3. Magic Carpet Ride
4. Readymade FM
5. Baby Love Child
6. Twiggy Twiggy/Twiggy Vs. James Bond [mix]
7. This Year's Girl #2
8. I Wanna Be Like You
9. Go Go Dancer
10. Catchy
11. Peace Music


lunes, 12 de octubre de 2009

Soundgarden - Superunknown (1994)

Soundgarden's finest hour, Superunknown is a sprawling, 70-minute magnum opus that pushes beyond any previous boundaries. Soundgarden had always loved replicating Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath riffs, but Superunknown's debt is more to mid-period Zep's layered arrangements and sweeping epics. Their earlier punk influences are rarely detectable, replaced by surprisingly effective appropriations of pop and psychedelia. Badmotorfinger boasted more than its fair share of indelible riffs, but here the main hooks reside mostly in Chris Cornell's vocals; accordingly, he's mixed right up front, floating over the band instead of cutting through it. The rest of the production is just as crisp, with the band achieving a huge, robust sound that makes even the heaviest songs sound deceptively bright. But the most important reason Superunknown is such a rich listen is twofold: the band's embrace of psychedelia, and their rapidly progressing mastery of songcraft. Soundgarden had always been a little mind-bending, but the full-on experiments with psychedelia give them a much wider sonic palette, paving the way for less metallic sounds and instruments, more detailed arrangements, and a bridge into pop (which made the eerie ballad "Black Hole Sun" an inescapable hit). That blossoming melodic skill is apparent on most of the record, not just the poppier songs and Cornell-penned hits; though a couple of drummer Matt Cameron's contributions are pretty undistinguished, they're easy to overlook, given the overall consistency. The focused songwriting allows the band to stretch material out for grander effect, without sinking into the pointlessly drawn-out muck that cluttered their early records. The dissonance and odd time signatures are still in force, though not as jarring or immediately obvious, which means that the album reveals more subtleties with each listen. It's obvious that Superunknown was consciously styled as a masterwork, and it fulfills every ambition. Source: [AMG]

Soundgarden - Black Hole Sun

Track Listing
1. Let Me Drown
2. My Wave
3. Fell on Black Days
4. Mailman
5. Superunknown
6. Head Down
7. Black Hole Sun
8. Spoonman
9. Limo Wreck
10. The Day I Tried to Live
11. Kickstand
12. Fresh Tendrils
13. 4th of July
14. Half
15. Like Suicide
16. She Likes Surprises

[Download Part 1]
[Download Part 2]