lunes, 14 de julio de 2008

The Swingin' Neckbreakers - Live For Buzz (1993)

With all the subtlety of their 1970s pro-wrestling maneuver namesake, Trenton, NJ's Swingin' Neckbreakers beautifully piledrive their way through 14 songs on their debut album. Live for Buzz put Swingin' Neckbreakers' formula in place: a deft mixture of covers both unknown and familiar with bassist and lead vocalist Thomas Jorgensen's strong original songwriting. The onslaught comes quickly, song after song smashing its way into your subconscious and your hips with John Jorgensen's bashing beat, his brother's soulful howl, and Shaggy's biting guitar. If a particular number doesn't grab you, no matter; the next one, an even better one, is already coming at you. Live for Buzz, sounding like high fidelity compared to other '90s garage rock kingpins, starts to flag near the end of side two when Swingin' Neckbreakers veer a little too close to a bar band boogie. Trenton makes, the world takes. Source: [AMG]

The Swingin' Neckbreakers - Thinkin' Man's Girl

Track Listing
1. You
2. Thinkin' Man's Girl
3. Same All Over the World
4. Take Your Life
5. I Took My Baby Home
6. Shake It Some More
7. Little Pink Medicine
8. Boss Hoss
9. I Live for Buzz
10. She's Ready to Go Now
11. Little Bitty Corrine
12. You're Lying
13. Saturday's Best
14. The Girl Can't Dance/Look Away


1 comentario:

  1. I remember hours and hours playing this record on my turntable! This is a real good garage rock release! I heard later more of the band but I remember I was not as impressed as this release, which might be one of their best.