lunes, 12 de enero de 2009

VV.AA. - Judgment Night: Music From The Motion Picture (1993)

The gimmick here is that on each track a hard rock act has been combined with a rap act: Sonic Youth and Cypress Hill, Living Colour and Run-D.M.C., and so on. The idea, as with Run-D.M.C.'s duet with Aerosmith on "Walk This Way," is to achieve musical synergy and commercial crossover, and at least the second goal was met when this album went gold while the movie it accompanied went into the dumper. But, as on any duet album, from Sinatra to Elton John, the concept has to be translated into appropriate pairings on good songs to really work. Sometimes, it has. Living Colour and Run-D.M.C. meld well on "Me, Myself & My Microphone," and Slayer and Ice-T make an angry thrash of "Disorder." But in both cases, the rappers are familiar with the style -- Ice-T has a metal band of his own in Body Count. Elsewhere, neither the rappers nor the metal kids sound distinctive enough to make a striking impression beyond a faithfulness to a hard, angry approach. Source: [AMG]

Teenage Fanclub & De La Soul - Fallin`

Track Listing
1. Helmet & House Of Pain - Just Another Victim
2. Teenage Fanclub & De La Soul - Fallin'
3. Living Colour & Run DMC - Me, Myself & My Microphone
4. Biohazard & Onyx - Judgment Night
5. Slayer & Ice-T - Disorder
6. Faith No More & Boo-Yaa T.R.I.B.E. - Another Body Murdered
7. Sonic Yout & Cypress Hill - I Love You Mary Jane
8. Mudhoney & Sir Mix-A-Lot - Freak Momma
9. Dinosaur Jr. & Del The Funky Homosapien - Missing Link
10. Therapy & Fatal - Come and Die
11. Pearl Jam & Cypress Hill - Real Thing


1 comentario:

  1. This is a great cd...
    Hope you like it... and thanks, because I bought recently : love it too much !

    Bye !